More Dr. Seuss…

20 Apr

Okay, after doing this TWICE today, I have decided that I really love vinyl!  It is so easy to work with and is so versatile!!  I wanted to do a framed Dr. Seuss poem like I saw on Pinterest, however I didn’t have the vinyl colors.  So I decided to do it with paper and just put it on the white cardstock back ground and frame it.  Well, have you ever tried to transfer a PAPER phrase to something?  Well, you can use transfer paper, and if you put individual glue on each letter before putting it on the paper, it might work, but I’m to lazy for that.

I used the transfer paper, then used spray adhesive and put it on the cardstock background.  Which would have been fine, if I didn’t use the transfer paper again.  But because I tried to use the transfer paper (with the layer of spray adhesive on it btw) it look off the top layer of the letters when I tried to put them on the background!

Then, the great frame I got at Goodwill for $5 (painted silver er, black) did not have the traditional clips I thought they were on the back.  Noooo, these were farmer’s clips that have to be installed with a special staple gun looking tool.  So I had to go back out and find glazier clips that were supposed to work the same way, just easier to install (yeah, right!).  On my way back home, we passed a vinyl sign shop and decided what the heck, and stopped to see if they would be willing to sell some of their product.  He GAVE me the remnants that he couldn’t use in his large plotter for free!!!  (and who doesn’t love free!)  I got red, blue, purple, gold, white, and green, plenty to redo the poem in vinyl, and use the other frame I got from Big Lots for $6!!  I think it turned out GREAT!!  I hope they get a good amount for this basket and that J’s teacher didn’t end up spending alot of her money. 

So did you want to see it??  I’m dying to put it up!! 🙂

Image

One Response to “More Dr. Seuss…”

  1. Beth April 22, 2012 at 12:37 am #

    I really had a great time making this, even if it did take 2 times to get it right! 🙂

Leave a Reply

